Skip to content

What's New WeGO Awards


General Assembly

The General Assembly consists of all full member cities and is the top-level decision-making body of WeGO that has the power to decide on, approve, and confirm the key agenda of WeGO. The General Assembly makes decisions on: amendments to the WeGO Statute, financial support for projects and programs, consultation and decision on cooperative projects among cities, election of the President City and the Executive Committee members, confirmation of the next host city of the General Assembly and any other key matters related to the structure and operation of the Organization.

A regular session of the General Assembly is held every three years.


President and Vice President Cities

The President City supervises and represents WeGO and chairs WeGO meetings. The President City is elected at the General Assembly and any full member city that has fully paid membership fees and wishes to be elected as President City should notify the Secretariat in writing of its candidacy at least one month prior to the General Assembly.

The Vice President Cities consist of an Executive Vice President City and not less than five Vice President Cities. Vice Presidents assist the President, with the Executive Vice President substituting for the President when he or she is absent from meetings or other events.  Vice President Cities are nominated by the Executive Committee and appointed by the President City. The host of the next General Assembly is automatically appointed as the Executive Vice President City, while Vice President Cities are appointed by the President taking equal geographical distribution into consideration as much as possible.

The President and Vice Presidents serve a three-year term and may be re-elected. 

P and VPC.png

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee assists in the operations of WeGO and provides support for WeGO projects and activities. The committee consists of twenty or fewer cities, including the President and Vice President Cities. The committee may hold regular and special meetings, whereby regular meetings are held annually.

Members of the Executive Committee are elected by the General Assembly.  Any member city wishing to join the Executive Committee should notify the Secretariat in writing of its candidacy one month prior to the General Assembly. 

Executive Committee members serve a three-year term and may be re-elected.



The Secretariat of WeGO is located in Seoul, Republic of Korea and led by the Secretary General and Assistant Secretary General. The Secretariat serves WeGO members and primarily performs the following functions to provide administrative support to and implement the decisions of WeGO:


Regional Offices

A WeGO Regional Office is an affiliated organization of the WeGO Secretariat that supports the functions of the Secretariat and facilitates the implementation of WeGO projects and management of members in the respective region. A WeGO Regional Office may be set up in Asia, Europe, Africa, the Americas, the Middle East, and Oceania and is hosted by a WeGO member city in the applicable region. A host city for a WeGO Regional Office is selected by the Executive Committee through a bidding process.

WeGO currently has the following Regional Offices:


The WeGO Asia Regional Office, Chengdu (China)


The WeGO Europe Regional Office, Ulyanovsk Region (Russia)